top of page

When I Became A Mommy


I was in my third year of grad school, 24 years-old and felt a strong ticking of my biological clock. Because my menstrual periods were never late, I thought getting pregnant would be a cinch. I disregarded the fact that I had been on birth control pills since I was 21 and even got a depo (provera) shot shortly after my wedding which was just 15 months ago.

Before the moment of my son's conception I had two false alarms. I was two weeks late each time and I went to Kaiser Permanente to get a pregnancy test. I was so discouraged both times. The second-time made me start doubting if I am even able to have children.

My friends introduced me to Feng-Shui that triggers fertility and I found an audiobook about "Practical Intuition." It is a four-hour drive to school from my husband's house. (Yes, I was a dedicated student.) After getting passed the windy road after the grapevine, Laura Day started to say, "focus on what your heart deeply wants" (or something like that). All that came in my mind is asking the universe for a baby.

He was born on this day, one week before Christmas. He is the best Christmas present ever.

Meet D.I. Smith, Dr. Mom 

The psychologist turned blogger

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 

Supermommy

King of Dads

Babyville

Krafty Kids

bottom of page